About the International Theological Commission:

The International Theological Commission (ITC) of the Catholic Church advises the Magisterium of the Church, particularly the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith (CDF), a dicastery of the Roman Curia.[1][2] Its memberships consists of no more than 30 Catholic theologians[1] appointed by the pope at the suggestion of the Prefect of the CDF[3] for renewable five year terms. They tend to meet annually for a week in Rome, where the Commission is based.[4]

The Prefect of the CDF is ex officio the president of the ITC.

This Vatican.va page lists the last members of the 2014-2019 (9th) Quinquennium (appointed July 2014) as well as the past members of the 8th to 1st Quinquennium (appointed May 1969).

The last appointment (July 2014) was reported by the Catholic News Agency on Sep 24, 2014.

On 29 November 2019, Pope Francis had an audience with the members of the 9th Quinquennium ITC celebrating 50 years of ITC work with the following quote, indicating that a new Quinquennium would be appointed soon:

I am pleased to meet you and I thank your president, Cardinal Ladaria, for the words he addressed to me on your behalf. You have reached the end of your ninth five-year period of work, but above all to an important anniversary, the fiftieth anniversary of the Commission: fifty years of service to the Church. I congratulate you on this Jubilee, which allows you to make grateful memory of your history.

In the preliminary note of the ITC document The Reciprocity between Faith and Sacraments in the Sacramental Economy produced by the 9th Quinquennium and released in December 2019, there was an indication that the term has been extended by 1 year.

My Question: Who are the current members of the International Theological Commission for the 10th Quinquennium that Pope Francis should have appointed in 2019 / 2020?

  • +1 Not so easy to find a source!
    – Ken Graham
    Commented May 14, 2021 at 17:08
  • @KenGraham Yes, I tried but couldn't find it. Commented May 14, 2021 at 23:56
  • nine quinquenniums comes to 45 years, yet the fiftieth anniversary has been celebrated. This may suggest that a gap between quinquenniums may happen, and it is therefore possible a new one has not yet been appointed.
    – davidlol
    Commented May 24, 2021 at 10:11
  • @davidlol What seemed to happen was probably frequent extensions rather than gap (commission is dissolved with new one not yet appointed). If the 9th is still now operating this would make the 9th the longest. The last longest was the 6th: 6 yr 4 mo. Complete history of appointment dates: 1st May 1969 ; 2nd Aug 1974 ; 3rd Aug 1980 ; 4th May 1986 ; 5th Jul 1992 ; 6th Oct 1997 ; 7th Feb 2004 ; 8th Jun 2009 ; 9th Jul 2014 Commented May 24, 2021 at 12:33
  • @GratefulDisciple Your extract mentions they tend to meet annually for a week in Rome. With the current world situation this is not possible so maybe that is delaying announcing a new commission.
    – davidlol
    Commented May 24, 2021 at 18:49

1 Answer 1


On July 27, 2021, Pope Francis appointed 12 new theologians and renewed 16 members of the International Theological Commission to serve as the 10th Quinquennium (2021-2026) with its first plenary session to take place in 2022. The appointments were announced in a Sep 29, 2021 Press release by the Vatican.

Catholic News Agency article and National Catholic Register article have brief profiles of the new members. According to both articles, the 1 year delay was due to coronavirus pandemic.

List of 2021-2026 ITC members:

Name Country
Edouard Adé Benin New
Sr. Alenka Arko, comloy Slovenia - Russian Fed
Yury Avvakumov Germany – Ukraine New
Msgr. Antonio Luiz Catelan Ferreira Brazil
Msgr. Piero Coda Italy Secretary General
Alberto Cozzi Italy New
Fr. Peter Dubovský, S.I. Slovakia
Fr. Jorge J. Ferrer, S.I. Puerto Rico New
Mario Ángel Flores Ramos Mexico
Fr. Simon Francis Gaine, O.P. Great Britain New, OP PR
Carlos María Galli Argentina
Gaby Alfred Hachem Lebanon
Reinhard Huetter USA New, CUA PR
Marek Jagodzinski Poland New
Fr. Thomas Kollamparampil, C.M.I. India
Victor Ronald La Barrera Villarreal Perù New
Karl-Heinz Menke Germany
Sr. Isabell Naumann, I.S.S.M. Australia New, news
Sr. Josee Ngalula, R.S.A. Congo New
John Junyang Park Korea
Fr. Bernard Pottier, S.I. Belgium
Javier Prades López Spain
Marianne Schlosser Germany - Austria
Nicholaus Segeja M’hela Tanzania
Fr. Gabino Uríbarri Bilbao, S.I. Spain
Philippe Vallin France
Fr. Etienne Vetö, I.C.N. France - USA New
Robin Darling Young USA New, CUA PR

List of 2014-2019 ITC members no longer serving:

Name Country
Terwase Henry Akaabiam Nigeria
Sr Prudence Allen, R.S.M. USA
Fr. Serge-Thomas Bonino, O.P. France
Msgr. Lajos Dolhai Hungary
Msgr. Krzysztof Gózdz Poland
Koffi Messan Laurent Kpogo Togo
Oswaldo Martínez Mendoza Colombia
Prof. Moira Mary McQueen Canada – Great Britain
Prof. Tracey Rowland Australia news
Prof. Héctor Gustavo Sánchez Rojas, S.C.V. Peru
Pierangelo Sequeri Italy
Željko Tanjic Croatia
Fr. Gerard Francisco P. Timoner III, O.P. Philippines
Fr. Thomas G. Weinandy, O.F.M.Cap. USA

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .