Nation on the British Isles, including England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland, but not the Republic of Ireland

The United Kingdom (UK), formally the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, is a modern state located in Europe. The historical states of England, Scotland, and Wales are included in it, all of which are located on the island of Great Britain. Northern Ireland, on the island of Ireland, is also part of the UK, and it shares a border with the separate nation, the Republic of Ireland.

Related tags:

history | excerpt history