Christianity Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for committed Christians, experts in Christianity and those interested in learning more. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Who are the seven princes of Hell? I think I know them but I am not 100%. I believe they are Belial, Satan, Beelzebub, Asmodeus, Laviathan, Mammon, Belphegor, Lucifer. Could someone tell me if I am right and if so what hell are they in charge of please. If I am wrong could you tell me with their roles please.

share|improve this question
According to what tradition? Of these, only Beelzebub, Lucifer, and Satan actually appear in Scripture, and they all seem to be the same person – Affable Geek Dec 9 '13 at 20:58
You may want to check out this question:… – Affable Geek Dec 9 '13 at 21:00
It all I can remember from my childhood when I went to bible school and my younger sister. That what I got when I read information about them but my old bible teacher told me that they are all different angels or demons. – Kim-Alice Dec 10 '13 at 13:28

According to Peter Binsfeld, you've got the list right. He made the list in 1589; there was no support for that theory before then, and there has been very little support for that theory since.

As far as I know, there is no Christian tradition which adheres to there being seven princes of Hell. More than that, at least the names "Lucifer" and "Satan" refer to the same entity. Mammon is synonymous with greed or money (Matthew 6:24), but is sometimes personified also. Asmodeus and Belphegor aren't even mentioned in the Bible.

Peter's list seems to have been extrapolated from the 7 deadly sins, without any scripture to back up his list. Here it is.

  • Lucifer: pride
  • Mammon: greed
  • Asmodeus: lust
  • Leviathon: envy
  • Beelzebub: gluttony
  • Satan: wrath
  • Belphegor: sloth
share|improve this answer
Leviathon is mentioned in Job 41 and Isaiah 27:1. – Ben Miller Dec 9 '13 at 22:52
The leviathan of Job is an animal, not a demon. The description is physical -- teeth, scales, etc -- I don't see anything there to interpret this as a demon. The passage in Isaiah is not as clear, he appears to be using leviathan as a symbol for something or someone, but you could debate exactly what. – Jay Dec 10 '13 at 7:45
The idea of seven levels of hell comes from rabbinic tradition, specifically the Babylonian Talmud (Soṭah 10b). This appears to have been used as the inspiration for Dante's Purgatorio and he appears to have combined this idea with the 7 deadly sins. According to the jewish encyclopedia, Shab. 104 put forth the idea that there was an angel prince. Therefore an angel-prince for each level is a natural progression... – James Shewey Dec 21 '15 at 23:20
@JamesShewey Dante's works are full of kabbalistic imagery, I came across an article once that related them to hermeticism, I wish I could find it for you now. – Andrew Dec 22 '15 at 2:39

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.